Skip to content

Famous Quotes (John Lennon)

June 9, 2006

This was John Lennons answer when he was asked if he was a genius. 

“Yes, if there is such a thing as one, I am one. — People like me are aware of their so-called genius at ten, eight, nine. . . . I always wondered, “Why has nobody discovered me?'' In school, didn't they see that I'm cleverer than anybody in this school? That the teachers are stupid, too? That all they had was information that I didn't need? I got…lost in being at high school. I used to say to me auntie, “You throw my…poetry out, and you'll regret it when I'm famous, '' and she threw the bastard stuff out. I never forgave her for not treating me like a…genius or whatever I was, when I was a child. It was obvious to me. Why didn't they put me in art school? Why didn't they train me? Why would they keep forcing me to be a…cowboy like the rest of them? I was different, I was always different. Why didn't anybody notice me? A couple of teachers would notice me, encourage me to be something or other, to draw or to paint – express myself. But most of the time they were trying to beat me into being a…dentist or a teacher. And then the…fans tried to beat me into being a…Beatle or an Engelbert Humperdinck, and the critics tried to beat me into being Paul McCartney.”

John Lennon Former Beatle, Musician and Artist (1940-1980)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristine permalink
    June 9, 2006 9:48 pm

    I needed this today. Thanks. And all the rest too! Good, drea and kind, Maya Angelou.

  2. June 9, 2006 10:30 pm

    Thanks Kristine for the comment that was kind. I amde some comments over on your blog as well. I hope that they help! Added your blog to my blogroll too!

Leave a Reply

